Ashgrove West currently:


Lord Mayor Acknowledges Brisbane's Outstanding Citizens

29 January 2018

Lord Mayor Graham Quirk has honoured more than 20 of Brisbane’s outstanding citizens at a ceremony held at Brisbane City Hall this week.

“The Lord Mayor’s Australia Day Awards are a very important part of the city’s Australia Day celebrations as they allow us to celebrate our unique Team Brisbane spirit,” Cr Quirk said.

“Our local communities are filled with quiet achievers who generously go above and beyond to improve the lives of other, time and time again.

“These awards pay tribute to those remarkable individuals and ensure they are appropriately recognised for their dedication to giving back to our community.

“Each and every one of the recipients honoured in these awards have displayed the Team Brisbane spirit that makes our city unique.

“I would particularly like to acknowledge our Citizen of the Year Margaret Page, who has selflessly volunteered her time to help vulnerable children for more than 25 years.”

Other 2018 Lord Mayor’s Australia Day Awards recipients include:

Senior Citizen of the Year Award

Una Gray (Forest Lake)

In recognition of Una’s outstanding leadership within the Forest Lake community and involvement with Pillowcases for Oncology Kids.

Young Citizen of the Year Award

Selena Ferguson (Eight Mile Plains)

In recognition of Selena’s passion in scouting and leadership within her school and endless enthusiasm for life and for her community.

Community Event of the Year Award

Shell Green T20 Cricket Match

In recognition of the Shell Green T20 Cricket Match - recreating a great historical event and educating the community on the significance of the Australian Army’s role at Gallipoli. The event is organised by Kenmore-Moggill Sub-Branch INC.

Australia Day Sports Award

Terrence Ericson (Karana Downs)

In recognition of Terrence’s remarkable contribution to croquet as a player, coach, referee and mentor.

Corporate Citizen of the Year Award

· Becis Chartered Accountants (Sunnybank Hills)

In recognition of both Tony and Maria Becis’s continuous commitment in fundraising for charities and business support to make a difference in the Brisbane community.

Australia Day Cultural/Arts Award

Uncle Nurdon Serico (The Gap)

In recognition of Uncle Nurdon’s community work in bringing together Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians and his dedication to sharing and preserving Indigenous culture for more than 50 years.

Lord Mayor’s Green Heart Award – Individual

Kelvin Barfoot (Ashgrove)

In recognition of Kelvin’s dedication to leading the Tennis Avenue Bushcare Group to restore and maintain a large portion of Enoggera Creek in Ashgrove.

Lord Mayor’s Green Heart Award – Organisation

Brandon Road Bushcare Group (Runcorn)

In recognition of the Brandon Road Bushcare Group’s effort to restore and maintain the wetlands that are part of the upper reaches of the Bulimba Creek Catchment.

Australia Day Achievement Awards

Belinda Adams (Wishart)

Eugene Boyle (Tarragindi) - Melissa Bruijn and Debby Gould (Kenmore)

Darren Clarke (Pallara)

Laurence Deane (Red Hill)

Dee Douglas (Corinda)

Constantine Drozdovskii (Camp Hill)

Ross Garnett BEM (New Farm)

Michael Gilmour (Paddington)

Charles Grove (Stafford)

David Lloyd (Deagon)

Bruce Meers (Carindale)

Shirley Rea (Seven Hills)

Richard Speechley (The Gap)

For more information on the Lord Mayor’s Australia Day Awards visit or call Council on (07) 3403 8888